Different ip for each workstation

Post Reply
Shieldfam
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2022 12:18 pm

Different ip for each workstation

Post by Shieldfam » Sun Aug 28, 2022 12:24 pm

Hello,

I'm new here and I have got a few questions regarding network activities for the workstations;

- Is it possible to set a different ip for each workstation ? (Whether virtually or with additional hardware)
- Can a computer on the same network send a message for only one of the workstations ?
- Is it possible to communicate with Workstation B, from Workstation A through ip ?

Thank you.

beast2040
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 2:52 pm

Re: Different ip for each workstation

Post by beast2040 » Mon Aug 29, 2022 12:23 am

- Is it possible to set a different ip for each workstation ?
It is possible to assign only local static IPs.
Can a computer on the same network send a message for only one of the workstations ?
- Is it possible to communicate with Workstation B, from Workstation A through ip ?
I think this is possible, provided that the program for sending messages can be run on each of the workplaces

pdavis
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:43 am

Re: Different ip for each workstation

Post by pdavis » Mon Sep 12, 2022 4:25 am

I ran with different IPs on different workstations for a few months but I did find it caused problems with third party services that used the loopback address (Plex and Emby specifically). There may have been a solution that I didn't know about though.

beast2040
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 2:52 pm

Re: Different ip for each workstation

Post by beast2040 » Mon Sep 12, 2022 8:45 pm

A loopback adapter is rarely required.
Try just adding a few static IPs to your network card.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest